Skip Navigation LinksNews
List All News Articles

3rd EMU Fone Film Festival Award Winners Announced

3rd EMU Fone Film Festival Award Winners Announced
Published Date: Monday, 15 June 2015

Organised by Eastern Mediterranean University, Communication and Media Studies Faculty, Radio-TV and Cinema Department since 2013, this year’s Fone Film Festival finished with an award ceremony which took place at Communication and Media Studies Faculty.

Elvan Toprak’s Yusuf; İbrahim Eren’s Cızırtı and Mutaz Qanabita’s Beauty of the Sea received the mention award from the International Competition Category jury. Soner Sert’s Burdayım Burdayım and Onur Çınar’s We are Watching shared the third prize. Deniz Özden’s Bir Maç Günlüğü received the second prize while Soner Sert’s Ses won the best film award.

In the high school category, Oğuzhan Çakmak and Bedirhan Atlıhan’s film entitled ‘Darağacı’ won the best film award while Zeynep Naz Ercan’s film ‘Döngü’ won the second prize and Yusuf Faruk Tunç’s ‘Komşu’ won the third prize.

The theme of this year’s festival which was sponsored by Halkbank was “What I Came to Say”. The award for the best film in the international category was 4000 TL, for the second best film 2500 TL and the third one was 1500 TL. Additionally, the best movie in the high schools category has been awarded 2000 TL, the second one 1500 TL and the third has received 1000 TL.

The Festival Hosted More Films This Year!

EMU Radio-TV and Cinema Department Chair Assoc. Prof. Dr. Hanife Aliefendioğlu stated the department’s pleasure in receiving a diverse group of participants as well as the department’s collaboration with other festivals. Assoc. Doç. Dr. Aliefendioğlu added that the aim of the festival is to contribute to the formation of a short film culture in Northern Cyprus. Radio-TV and Cinema Department Vice Chair Assist. Prof. Dr. Yetin Arslan stated that a total of 100 films, 23 of which were in the high school category applied to the festival. Assist. Prof. Dr. Arslan expressed the department’s hope to have more films during the prospective festivals.

Shortlisted films in the “International Category” were evaluated by a jury formed by the Turkish Cypriot Cinema Director Derviş Zaim, artist Anber Onar, CIU Communication Faculty academic staff member Assist. Prof. Dr. Birsel Matara, short film producer and journalist Vasvi Çiftçioğlu and activist and anthropologist Olga Demetriou. Films in the ‘High School Category” were evaluated by a jury formed by Radio- TV and Cinema Department academic staff member Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mashoed Bailie, short film producer and columnist Elvan Levent and EMU Communication and Media Studies Faculty, Radio-TV, Film and Journalism Department academic staff member Ahmet Goran.

Further information about the festival is available at and